Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2016 Nominees & BangWave’s Official Voting Slate


The nominees for induction to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2016 have been announced. We’ve taken a look at the list and decided on our endorsements. We encourage everyone out there to Vote on the Hall of Fame website. The 5 nominees that receive the most votes will be the winners. We find out who wins in December. If you’ve never heard of any of these bands, it’s because to of the 25 year rule. An artist must have released their first commercial a single or album at least 25 years ago to be considered for nomination. The artist does NOT have to be considered “Rock” to be considered. They should really call the place the POP MUSIC HALL OF FAME.

Anyway, Here is the list, with our five endorsements in bold.

  • Chicago
  • Cheap Trick
  • Deep Purple
  • The Cars
  • Chaka Khan
  • Chic
  • The JB’s
  • Janet Jackson
  • Los Lobos
  • Steve Miller
  • N.W.A.
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • The Smiths
  • The Spinners
  • Yes

We think THE CARS deserve it the most. They are pictured above, circa 1979.

The Cure Announce North American Tour

The ageing goth-glam rockers are back and looking even weirder as old folks. The tour will consist of 25 dates in North America in 2016. The Scottish punk band, The Twilight Sad will open the shows. So far they have given only 3 of these days — NYC, LA and Chicago. They will reveal the rest in January. Pre-sale tickets for those dates will begin on Oct. 7.

The Cure’s last album release was 4:13 Dream in 2008. A live recording came out in 2011.

Also making news today is Robert Smith’s new remix of “Vapour Trail” by Ride. It’s on SoundCloud if you want to hear it.

They Weren’t Punk Enough. Not Even Close.

OMG this is HILARIOUS! When I stumbled upon this video I could not believe my eyes. Kudos to the person who found this in their VHS collection and digitized it for us to see in 2015. It most likely appeared on low-budget ad spots on cable-only and independent stations.

The problem is that the creators of the CD compilation do not know what the hell they are talking about. It’s ludicrous. None of the songs included are punk at all. The only ones that come close are Devo and The Knack. Devo gets some Punk cred but they are generally thought of as New Wave.

TROLLING! They are really trying to sell an image of being a Punk. If you order the CD you might get some Punk cred with your stupid friends. The sham would not become apparent to the ignorant pre-teens until their big sister saw the CD. What is really troubling is that pre-teens had access to credit cards in the mid 1990s.